tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Making tracks

I love to walk, especially the feeling of 'getting  into your stride' when the going is good - not always possible if the terrain is muddy or uneven. Yesterday, which is when I took these pictures, I walked a circular route via  bridle ways, minor roads and the coast path. I was going widdershins and I met the same woman twice - she was walking clockwise. Both times we stopped and exchanged a few words about our dogs and the walking routes we followed.

I noticed these tiny tunnels made by wood-boring beetle larvae as they ate their way through the timber from where they hatched to where they pupated. Their tunnels grow bigger as they do, radiating out from the start point to avoid colliding. I wonder how they navigate?

And I spotted the track laid down by badgers (extra) as they make  their way across the field between their sett and their foraging grounds, to and fro every night.  Creatures of habit, they follow scent trails established by routine use. 

Maps, routes, pathways - we all need ways to navigate our territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.