Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Old Leigh

I was up at 5.30am which wasn’t ideal but it gave me the impetus to get out for dawn down at Old Leigh. It was a dull, colourless, grey affair without much light at all, certainly not enough to photo any flying action, however I had an absolutely wonderful time. When I got there I saw something bobbing about in the water and it soon became apparent that it was a seal. Others have seen it/them there but I have never seen one in the flesh outside of a zoo (I can’t remember the last time I went to a zoo) so I’ve used that as my main. Other than that it seemed like just about every bird had decided to congregate in Leigh Creek… loads of little egrets, cormorants and a heron (see extras) along with the usual gulls, knots, sanderlings and turnstones (I think). Just watching them all dive, hunt and fight for food was entertainment in itself.

Hopefully I can get some snowy shots tomorrow if the forecast is correct!

Edit: Extras deleted due to space reasons

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.