A record

I have not been in such proximity to so many others for 11 months: 21 people in a training room for eight hours plus one hour of practical assessment at the end. I have donned and doffed PPE in the right order five times, have role-played having an allergic reaction to a vaccine and have vaccinated four pseudo arms. I just have to jump a few HR hoops then I can go and help for real in Oxford's vaccination centre at the Kassam football stadium.

I'd been in this room for two hours before I registered that it is the Jacqueline du Pré Music room, accessed in a different way from when I've been to concerts here. The earth slowly tilted then righted itself as I mapped the two very different experiences onto the same space.

The scale of this training is breathtaking. St John Ambulance is recruiting and training 30,000 volunteers across the country for the vaccination programme and today at St Hilda's College there were three lots of training going on in three different rooms, probably 80 people all together, with all sessions carefully timed so the the equipment could be taken from one training space to another as the next group needed it. I am impressed. The trainers are doing this every Saturday and Sunday for the foreseeable future. 

This evening we had a pre-arranged online family discussion about training in the workplace. A very interesting almost-two-hours from four different perspectives, but I'm exhausted. No comments this evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.