SwissPiper

By SwissPiper

Skitouring in Saharan dust

Strange conditions for a ski tour: mist in the valley, started in sunshine, Saharan dust gave a very strange light in the sky, blowing a gale at the top of the mountain, caution with large cornices, mostly compact, tricky and wind-blown snow on the descent, but occasionally a small patch of something worth skiing, visibility reduced to almost zero at the end of the descent.
It wasn't memorable for the best of reasons, but I really enjoyed it. I found it hard work, but made it to the top, I managed to hold onto all my gear in the strong winds, my knees survived and so did I, the company was great and helped motivate me to keep going, the atmosphere eerie but special.
On the descent the dust had formed yellowy-brown streaks in the snow, which are certainly not pretty, neither are they good for the snow, but quite remarkable how quickly the transformation happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.