To boldly go where no one has gone before

Finally, enough snow for snowshoeing. I drove to one of my favorite places in Myrä. I tried the same hike two years ago, but then there was even more snow and the snow load on the small birches and other shrubs had made them collapse so badly that it was impossible to get through them on snowshoes, so I had to interrupt the trip.

Today there were no such problems and I finally got to go around the hill of Suurimäki and climb to the top where a pristine snow blanket was waiting for me (extra photo). Just some traces of wildlife on snow.

The views were spectacular, although the day was cloudy and a little monochrome, but hiking at -8 ° C was a pleasure. Actually easier than during the thaw, because there was no need to care about open holes in the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.