Mell Fell

The day just seemed to slip away somehow. I trimmed my hair, made some soup to see me through the week’s lunches and started to sort through more of the van stuff that had taken over the kitchen last weekend. Found one of my old sweatshirts from Norfolk and then one of his old jumpers that I had kept in the van and wore as a comforting Sloppy Joe. After burying my head in it for a while I lost impetus and went out for a pint of milk and a walk. All the trees up here feel like friends, I end up having chats with them all, every single one a character. I feel I should do a Trees of Mell Fell, a bit like Faces of New York. I’m more likely to see trees than people. The ground was frozen solid, even areas that are usually deep bog. Everything was deeply cold and beautiful. Mosses and lichens were hanging off the trees, snowy lines picked out paths and the lines of roads in the distance and I love how the snow somehow manages to pick out the underlying geology of the fellsides, underlining the strata of distant Place Fell. At least I have this, and this family of Fell and trees, even if I don’t have him.
I was reminded of Wordsworth’s lines,
‘There is a comfort in the strength of love; 'Twill make a thing endurable, which else Would overset the brain, or break the heart’ (from Michael).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.