Poppy

By Poppy

Sunshine and snow!

Not a day you would choose to go for a drive, but when you have a Covid vaccination appointment, you don't really have much option! Mike had to go, so Lottie and I went too.

We were taking a friend's car back to the town for her, so Mike drove that, while I drove ours. There were very few other cars on the road, probably just other folk with appointments at the hospital this morning! Nipped into Tesco's to avail ourselves of the facilities and get a few supplies in case we got stuck in a snow drift on the way home!

Just sitting down to lunch and neighbour Jimmy rang to say his wife Ruth had collapsed, could I come up. She had slurred speech and couldn't stand. He rang 999, but with his strong Orkney accent and hearing problem I was needed to help with communication problems. After two hours the ambulance appeared through the snow and Ruth was taken to hospital. Of course by the time the ambulance got to her, she was an awful lot better than she had been, but because she's in her 80s and frail they weren't taking any chances. She's had a scan and it sounds like it was a TIA. With a bit of luck, she could be home tomorrow.

I said to Ruth that I'd keep an Jimmy. Her parting shot to me was "he'll be fine, never mind him, keep an eye on the cat"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.