Today's Special

By Connections

A Perfect Combo

We're very fortunate to have a marvelous independent bookstore, Village BooksVillage Books, with an adjacent greeting card and gift store, Paper Dreams, in Bellingham's Fairhaven neighborhood. I've spent many happy hours browsing in both stores, and am sorely missing doing that.  

During these months of self-isolating, I''ve ordered a number of books online from Village Books, both for gifts and  for myself, and picked them up at the door you see in the photo. There's a little table near the door where the Village Books staffer places the bag of book, then goes back into the store. I then pick up the bag.

Today I did a pick-up from the other door -- Evolve Chocolate + Cafe, located on the top floor of Village Books. We'd ordered a couple of their three-course Friday suppers for the first time, and were very pleased with the salads, main courses, and desserts (tiramisu, one of my favorites) we received. The servings were generous and we've had several meals each from our order. We'll be doing this again!

The pick-up procedure was a little different, as an Evolve staff member brought the bagged meals out to my car and put them in the trunk/boot while I stood the recommended distance away. I appreciated being able to ask her a couple of questions about our meals.

I hope before 2021 is over that we can go IN those doors! (Both stores are open to limited numbers of masked customers, but until we've had both vaccine doses and seen case numbers drop substantially, we'll stick with curbside pick-up.)

Blip 2153

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.