Herman

Poffert is a sweet cake, traditionally baked au bain-marie.  I always assumed that the Poffert is from Groningen, but in neighbouring Friesland the same kind of dish is called Boffert.  Generally speaking, a poffert somewhat resembles an English pudding or an Italian panettone.  It is usually made out of wheat flour, yeast, milk, eggs, raisins, apple and sugar. Herman cake (often called Herman), is a 'friendship cake'. Similar to the Amish friendship bread, a starter is passed from person to person. Hence the name.  The other ingredients for the mixture of a Herman are milk, sugar, flour and warm water.
In my research into what to do with my (yeast-free)starter, I found other traditional regional dishes that were very similar to a Poffert, so I decided to bake my own variation.  I also don't have a traditional Poffert pan, I used a springform pan instead.

The result of my baking is a very tasty kind of bread. I probably should use sugar next time, as in a real Friendshipsbread, but used a traditional syrup sauce like with a Poffert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.