Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

My Scottish ancestors?

In my never ending project of sorting all the historical family photos I inherited I had quite a surprise today. I found a substantial 'Carte de visite' collection. I have learned today that they were very popular from the 1850s through to about 1910. I think my great grandfather, Benjamin Hale, must have brought them out on the boat with him when, at the age of 17, he emigrated alone from England to Australia in 1857. Most of them, of course are unnamed. I was particularly taken by this one because the card was produced in Arbroath in Scotland. The Hales came from Woolwich SE and there are a number of cartes de visite from there in the collection. I do have Scottish ancestors but there is no reason why their photos would be in this collection. I would love to know who this couple is. She does rather look as if she's just been told she has to emigrate to Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.