Rob’s Snaps!

By RFotosince2021

Back streets of Adelaide

Glorious South Australian summer's day today. Rich, cloudless blue skies, warm but not too hot peaking at 27. Of course being a Monday I was stuck admiring the weather from behind my desk. Nevertheless, determined to stick to getting out every day, I did log off for an hour late in the arvo to get a walk.

Limited to time I stuck to the back streets in the south-east corner of the city. After my last couple of attempts to grab interesting images produced disappointing results, today’s effort was really successful. 

This is my favourite photo of the day.  Adelaide has characterful back streets which feature small row cottages. I don’t know the history of this particular street, there are none of the small blue plaques present that tell the story of the buildings. A familiar sight walking these back streets are armchairs of all shapes and sizes stuffed into the small street facing verandas. None so grand as these two armchairs. I wonder how long they have been there, affording the occupiers of the row cottage an open view of the street, deep in the shade on a dusty, hot, Adelaide afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.