SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Tertial (Ikea Lamp)

I was reading an article a couple of days ago about different techniques used for "pulling" film negatives.  That is, overexposing the shot, then underexposing the developing of the negative.  I had done something similar with a DSLR image I took a couple of months ago that I unintentionally overexposed.  I liked the composition and decided to muck around in Luminar with it to try and salvage it (just for fun) and it wound up being one of my favourites from that rainy night (grainy clouds that were not visible to the naked eye).

This Ikea lamp image started life in much the same way, but intentionally.  The original is overexposed by about 3 or 4 stops - you can't see the globe - just the really black bit behind the globe let alone the printing.  I increased the shadow by 100, decreased the highlight by 100, increased the contrast by 100 and reduced the exposure by about 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.