Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Brr ...

Goodness, today was cold. Last night was colder - I woke at 5am, with a vague sense of having had uneasy dreams, and realised that I was sore all over - back, shoulders, arms, neck - and promptly panicked. Was I ill? Had I caught the plague in spite of everything? Mr PB woke, swore at the cold. We put the convector in the bedroom on and slept again. And in the morning, sore as if I'd had a workout, I realised that I'd probably been holding myself together while I slept without realising it. (There is no radiator in our bedroom, which has this big bay window facing straight into the current wind. I like sleeping with the curtains open.)

The day was slightly dominated by my poor night, though I did my Pilates class and felt much the better of it. And yes, we went for a walk in the afternoon, when the temperature was all of 1ºc, pushing ourselves to the top of Benmore Gardens, more or less sheltered from the wind. We had a long chat with the Curator, whom we met as we descended - I wanted to know what was happening in the famous giant redwood avenue. My extra photo is of the machinery that prompted my question - they're injecting air and then water-resistant pellets into the compacted, waterlogged soil that threatens the trees. The problem is compounded - or perhaps caused - but the fact that there was originally a road between the trees.

My main photo is of the snow shower that began as I was getting out of bed this morning; it lay briefly but seemed to blow away without any perceptible effect. Now I've just realised it's been snowing again, as I head bedwards, and it's horribly cold outside. 

By the way - I've shut the bedroom curtains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.