'n Kiekie 'n Dag

By Sanri

Snow Bath

This little dunnock (I think it was the same one) was sitting motionless in the snow under the feeders this morning. I caught it without any problems to take into the house to see if we can give it some warmth, food and water, but when I let him go he flew away and went to sit on the kitchen table, watching the fish. We tried  to catch him again. but he flew to the window where he was caught and released outside, flying away, settlng into the headge

An hour or so later he (I assume ot was the same one) was sitting under the feeders again, not moving or eating any of the fallen seeds. C put some seed and a saucer of water on the grass next the hedge where there were no snow. He came back and was eating - I assume it was the same one, because he was less active than the rest.

Lunchtime he was sitting in the snow under the feeders again, that was when I took the photo. He is either sick and on his way out, enjoyed sitting in the snow or he was suffering from witdrawal symptoms and hoping for a fermented wheat seed to be thrown down.

I snowed during the night and on and off during the day. About 4" to 6" of setted snow by the end of the day.

Leftover veal pie for supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.