ferryoons

By ferryoons

Turner for breakfast

Here I am standing outside the backdoor in a snowstorm at breakfast time while the porridge cooks. As the Janet & John reading books for pre-school smalls used to say: "Look, Janet, look. See the snowflakes. See the big white snowflakes." (Except, as I recall, it was a big red ball.)

JMW Turner knew how to paint watery suns like this. Wibble years ago (1970s I think) I was in London and went to a Turner exhibition at the Royal Academy of Arts. It felt like they had every painting, every sketch he'd ever done. Impossible, I know, since he did thousands. But boy, could he paint light.

I was browsing the National Galleries of Scotland for Turner pictures, and came across a Mary Queen of Scots bath duck. Strange world. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.