Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

When is the Best Time to Plant a Tree?

Had to let an electrician in early this morning to fit a smart meter at Bellfield. This was snapped at 11am when I went along to lock up after him. Snow was so pretty and then so harsh today and changed about every 5 or 10mins.

Love how this shot and the winter bareness show just how wind sculpted these two cherry trees are. There is a wee apple tree at the end, a few months in the ground. It replaces a towering sycamore.

Q: When is the best time to plant a tree?
A: 20 years ago.
Q: When is the next best time?
A: Today.

That quote inspires me lots.

Also the idea that people plant tree lined avenues knowing they likely won't sit under the results of their labour.

I understand that the three cherry trees at Bellfield (there's a third one behind me when I took the photo) are memorial trees. As I understand it three family members died in an accident and there is a tree for each of them. One of my earliest blips was cherry blossom from these trees when they got a haircut last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.