Birds galore!

Zoomed with the Bus Pass Walkers and then community choir this morning.  Decided to go back up St Ives for a wander early afternoon. It was very quiet, and a crowd of ducks actually came down towards me on the path as I went to feed them - they must not have had many offerings today.  Anyone know what breed of duck the large one is in my collage?  It is twice the size of the Mallards. I wondered if it was a Rouen, but the markings don’t seem quite right. From the hide I saw Blue Tits, Long Tailed Tits, Robins galore, the Great Spotted Woodpecker (sadly round the wrong side of the feeder to get a good photo), Dunnocks, and a Brown Treecreeper which was lovely to see as I’ve never spotted one before.  Somebody had spread birdseed on the edge of the hide, and a squirrel settled right next to me happily munching away - until I raised the camera to get a photo and he shot off!  The only downside today was that the pathways were very slippery, and the circuit around the pond was just bottle ice!  I did my impression of “walking like a penguin” several times haha!  Caught in a heavy sleet shower on the way home which covered the roads and pavements for a short time, but soon disappeared.  Very cold but bracing walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.