madowoi

By madowoi

Doorbell

One issue I run into when looking to take a nice photo from my day, is that many attractive places on my way to work are simply not safe for stopping and taking a picture, especially in the winter time. There was a very nice sunrise this morning as I was driving off island, but duty drove me onward and you'll just have to trust me that it was very nice.

After work we had to drop off one of the cars at a repair shop, and I was just not savvy enough to get out and take some clever picture. I just wanted to get home. 

So on the way in I took a photo of our "doorbell." By which I mean the bell hanging by the door, since it's not like we get any visitors. And when we do we know they're coming long before they get to the door. 

So this bell just chimes in the wind, and sometimes it will really get to clanging around out there. If there's a proper nor'easter we have to take it down 'cause its just too much, and besides it bangs against the house. You can see from the wooden clapper that it gets some good use. 

Another nice thing about this bell is that it was cast nearby, so it has that cool local artisan vibe. I'm not much of one for product placement but what the heck it's from US Bells. It was a wedding present and a good one too. It has a rich, beautiful tone and I love it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.