JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 41: Snow flurries

There have been more snow flurries today, though they have not lasted long, and the lanes are treacherously icy. Fortunately we don't need to go anywhere. 

This is a view into part of my neighbour's back garden. I dropped off a card for the 95th birthday I embarrassingly forgot yesterday, and tried to apologise, from a suitable distance outside the door, but it's difficult: he's increasingly deaf, and tends not to have his hearing aids in when he's alone or in the garden, so attempts at conversation are frustrating for us both. He has a wonderful, large garden, which includes a huge vegetable plot as well as lots of flowers at the front, and he tends it all without any outside help and regularly sweeps the board at the gardening club show. Since we moved here eight years ago, he has been my vegetable growing mentor, and until we started shielding and then went into lockdown almost a year ago, I used to have coffee with him every week and discuss what we were sowing, planting out or harvesting. I miss this, and I think he does too: I'm fortunate to be isolating with my husband and daughter, but he is widowed, and has had little contact with anyone since last March. Now we mainly communicate by email, which doesn't come naturally to him; I'm hoping that by the time we have all had our second vaccinations, we will be allowed and feel safe to have coffee together again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.