Dave77

By Dave77plus1

Quiet reading day

I love to read in bed. Always have. It used to annoy the hell out of my workaholic father when I was a teenager (not that that term had been invented back then. Workaholic, I mean, not teenager.).

I bought this lovely, illustrated edition of Fitzgerald's 'Rubaiyat' years ago. It is illuminated by a more recent, and even better, purchase - a Serious Readers light. This has revived my pleasure in reading in my old age. I now have three of them, of different sorts, including a portable 'Roam Light'..

I am no highbrow reader. Fitzgerald's verses are glorious, and simple. I am currently also reading a fantasy novel (always written 'phantasy', when I was a kid). It is called 'The Escapement', the third novel in a trilogy by K J Parker, and a hugely tough read. Absolutely bonkers, to be honest, but I'm hooked, never want it to end.

Unborn tomorrow and dead yesterday,
Why fret about them if today be sweet! (See extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.