Garlic

Lockdown 3

I’ve been doing a voluntary task for a few weeks , collecting a lunch from a local deli and delivering it to an elderly man in the village . The garlic was on display in the shop.

Rant alert

Whilst I was waiting outside the deli I overheard a conversation between two ladies . They were discussing their vaccination and where they had to go to get it. The local centre is in the next town a few miles away. They were grumbling. One of them said  that she didn’t understand why the GPs weren’t doing it, to which her friend replied “Well they’re just lazy”

I was livid.

Local general practices all over the country have formed vaccination hubs to make the process as efficient as possible. This was government policy. 
When it started the only vaccine available had to be stored at minus 70c , a facility not available at local surgeries. 
Some of the doctors are indeed giving the vaccinations, but many people have been trained to do this and the GPs are freed up to do clinical work back in their own surgeries.
The vaccination patients , who are generally well are kept separate from the people attending the surgeries.
Some of you may know that LooseCanon is a retired GP and we know and have worked with many more.
It’s a bloody hard job at the best of times without a pandemic. I suppose there might be lazy GPs out there but I’ve never met one.
If I could I would draw your attention to another Blipper’s  post from yesterday praising his own GP and his colossal work load, but that journal  is private so I can’t , but suffice to say the doctor is heroic.
I have my jab/ jag / vaccination booked for Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.