Watch the birdies

A beautiful clear crisp sunny day. Enough warmth in the sun for me to don my shorts - for a while.

Headed to the nearby Blackford Pond for a walk. It was frozen over apart from a section at the west end where the birds were gathered, including the swans and what I assume to be last year’s cygnets.

The light was lovely so took lots of photos. While the main blip edges it for me with the detail of the wing and the other swan’s head, a close second is the first of the extras with the curled neck. I’ve also added one of an apple consuming thrush; and of the nearby allotments.

At the east end of the pond I met 3 Irish lads who had been snowboarding. They asked if you could walk on the ice. I said that I had done so in 1962 but that I would advise against it. I carried on and a few moments later heard a loud crack and a splash. One of them had tried but had fallen in to just above their ankles. So much for heeding my advice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.