Grammy

By Grammy

A Bird of many Shapes

In January 2005, the great blue heron public art project began to take shape in our area. County students submitted ideas for decorating the tall fiberglass birds as part of an effort modeled after similar projects in cities such as Washington (pandas) and Chicago (cows). In October, 27 herons were delivered to public schools and students went to work. One is painted with seals of the armed forces; one has a tractor on it; another depicts blue crabs and Old Bay seasoning. This colorful heron sits in front of our county’s new senior center. It depicts the beauty of our county from the many miles of shoreline to the wide blue skies where these graceful birds can be spotted. I noticed the piece has various geometric shapes: circles, ovals, cone, rectangle, triangle, etc. There are also several Black Eyed Susan’s, our state flower, painted on the heron.
At my session today, the physical therapist suggested I try a peanut massage ball to relieve my shoulder muscle pain. It should arrive this weekend. I grabbed my blip photo and hurried home to get out of the cold wet weather. We enjoyed my daughter’s homemade stuffed pepper soup which warmed us. The next snowstorm should begin momentarily but we only expect a few inches. Thanks for the stars and kind comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.