cate1

By cate1

Sunset at the (frozen) loch

I had quite a productive day catching up with chores until we drove to the retail park for groceries.  There was a queue to get into the car park, which we couldn't just turn and get out of so we parked the car and I headed off to do the shopping, but I immediately turned back when I saw the length of the queue to get into the shop.  It was like Christmas and would have taken ages to get back out of the shopping area so we changed into our walking boots, left the car and headed in the direction of the loch to catch the sunset, which was the main purpose of our outing.  The loch was frozen and that was surprising as it is quite large, but beautiful  I could see whales and aeroplanes in the different formations on the ice - J couldn't.  

The walk in total was just over 3 miles, but was exhausting as the snow is still lying quite deeply.  Queuing in the car park was gone, but it was still quite busy.  In future I'll shop in the morning.  

Extra shows a lone swan that I think was frozen to the ice as the geese flew off as we were walking along.  There were ducks still in one area that wasn't covered in snow, but no other geese or swans.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.