PandaPics

By pandammonium

Sunbeams

As I rounded the bend from the bridge over the River Lark where it joins the River Great Ouse, I saw sunbeams across the Ouse, and they were beautiful. I had to get a photo.

There’s a farm adjacent to the road. I stopped the car on the end of the farm’s drive, hoping a shouty man wouldn’t come running, and looked across the road expecting to see the sunbeams. However, river banks go upwards from roads in the fens, and this one is particularly steep and high (see the extra, where a conveniently passing vehicle gives you an indication of the height of the river bank).

I thought I’d walk up the bank at a shallow angle. Once I’d crossed the road and tried walking up the slope, I realised – not for the first time – that I’m no ibex.

Luckily, as the road approaches the bridge, it slopes upwards, so the bank becomes shorter and shallower. I walked along the bottom of the bank till I reached a point where I could see over the top of the river bank to the sunbeams, but not to where I could see the river: it was too cold and I was a bit scared!

While balancing on the steepish, lumpy grass in the bitter cold, I took a couple of photos of the sunbeams. Then I looked back at the car. It looked so far away.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.