memento

By memento

Bounty

I kid you not, this is straight out of the camera!! Oh wait, you're only supposed to say that if the picture is almost to fabulous to believe that statement. Never mind.

Because of this breathtaking bounty, I kid you not, every time I'm standing in this spot, I remember an evening in 2004. A non-favorite client had roped me into accompanying her to Malibu to help her get over her fear of travelling, to see some old friends and attend a fundraiser where Jane Goodall was the keynote speaker. That last bit convinced me.

One of the evenings, I was informed that we were to get dolled up and attend an impromptu event at her friends mansion in the Malibu hills. The incredible Sebastião Salgado was in LA and would show his slides at this get together. I can only imagine the mad scramble and phone calls to caterers and extra wait staff.

It was incredible; the home, the food, the who's who. And then the slide show started. It was stunning, gut-wrenching; mostly his work with starving children in Africa. The absurdity of all that food spread out while these images of emaciated and dying children with sunken eyes were projected on a twenty foot wall was just a bit too much for me. More shocking was every one in that room kept stuffing their mouths while exclaiming: that is soooo tragic, sooooo awful, we had no idea, what can one do to help? I snuck out and wandered around in the gardens, wishing I was home with Mr. M.

We are so lucky, so very very lucky. Now to cook all that bounty so we can eat for the next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.