Light Reading

I have always been interested in science and was studying for A levels in the late 1950"s.  My mother decided that I was leaving school some 3 months before I would have taken them 1959.  I started an apprenticeship with the Post Office Telecommunications Department, where I could continue my studies, but only those that suited them; City and Guilds.  I completed  these rather quickly.  In 1962 and went on to study other subjects that I could get the PO to approve and pay for. A friend who was studying a degree at London University had just read this book and said that I would enjoy it as Einstein had made it so clear; he was right.  I read it and eventually after lending it to several of my own friends, it was not returned, so this is a photo of the 1979 copy which I subsequently bought.  During lock down I have got very bored and have re-read many books, this being one of them.  I found it a real pleasure, it really is light reading and it is of course based upon the speed of light being constant to any reference system, so a pun.  I can thoroughly recommend anyone to read it, it is superbly written and translated and is not in the least heavy going; another pun! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.