On the brink of flowering

Although it was bitterly cold, I finally got out of the house and walked to Thorpe Wood, mostly on pavements, which avoided the ubiquitous mud now present on any unsurfaced  footpath. On my  way I dropped in at Longthorpe churchyard, which was full of Green Snowdrop, as well as the first few Balkan Anemone, Blue Anemone and Eastern Sowbread.

While in the wood, I ended up having a long conversation with a fellow ecological consultant and long time friend  - she has three more potential projects which means that both Pete and I are now pretty much fully-booked for next year. 

In the late afternoon I had a Zoom get-together with a small group of friends - a belated celebration for my birthday. I was a bit late joining the meeting, thanks to a delay in taking Chris to the garage to pick up his car after its MOT - thankfully it passed - but we had a very jolly hour or so - helped in my case by a glass of mead flavoured with Christmas spices!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.