40 +

This old girl is over 40 years old and this morning she just wouldn't get going.  I suspected the thermocouple was the culprit but I wasn't sure (and I didn't have one anyway).  -4C outside and the temperature indoors was dropping. Phone call to my plumber Heating Engineer and he gave me a couple of tests to carry out.  It was the thermocouple.  He said he'd be with me mid afternoon - and he was.
9am Saturday morning no heating - 4pm all was well and working again.
Now we are snug and warm, but seriously considering retiring her at last.
(Over the 40 odd years she has had a few replacement thermocouples and a replacement pump - nothing else.  Quite, quite amazing but a decision will have to be made..:-(
(She may look a little untidy, but she lives in a cupboard under a working surface and seems to like that life)  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.