The Last Photo

Definitely  not the best photo of a guillemot, but there's a story attached.

I first spotted it as I was walking home.  Usually seen in the harbour, this one was further upriver, nearly to the main bridge.  In midstream, it knew I was watching but didn't seem too bothered and didn't move off.  Eventually it drifted next to the river wall, where I could look straight down on it.  So of course I took photos.  

Literally seconds later, as I was putting the camera down, there was a flash of brown, and the guillemot was gone.  The otter had snaffled it, swimming off with it underwater.  As they didn't resurface, I surmise the guillemot was taken to the otter's hidey-hole in the river wall.  

A nature documentary on my doorstep.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.