Flying-leap

By flying

Red.....

.....for Valentine's Day.

Towards the end of last year I spotted a sale for some potted Amaryllis bulbs. You could buy 2 pots for one price, one white and one red and then a choice for singles or doubles. I chose singles and made three purchases, one for my aunt, one for my mum and one for myself.

Well the fun we've had! My aunt lives in the North Island and was able to keep hers in her porch, being warmer up there hers flowered first. My mum lives near me but her house is so much warmer than mine, mum was able to keep hers on a sunlit table and was the next to flower. Well, my bulbs were being moved daily to be in the sun as it moved around the house, needless to say mine were the last to flower. We all had weekly progress reports, my aunt and mum were 'tickled pink' as their mother would've said.

This one is called Red Lion, a beauty of a flower. The plant produced two stems with four flowers on each stem, they're huge! Interesting to note the stems didn't produce flowers at the same time, it was one after the other and when I cut the spent stem off the new stem had to be held up due to the heaviness of the new flowers.

A small gift turned out being so much fun for all of us, a gift of love to both my aunt and my dear mum, love you both :) x

Happy Sunday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.