Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Transformation

No one was more surprised than Joan, who swears she can't sing, when she nailed a high C.

Beth, on the right, is a voice teacher at the Institute where I study. I'm fortunate to be co-teaching a beginning singing class with her this term (at TVI a co-teacher is a teacher's assistant in a learning capacity). She is bright and vivacious and really knows her stuff. She teaches with kindness, compassion and joy. I want to be just like her when I grow up!

There are eight students in our class and most are pretty new to singing. Most are also middle-aged and older. So it is quite exhilarating to witness them stand up and sing in front of others for the first time in their lives, especially when they never dreamed they'd be able to do it.

That, for me, is worth the price of admission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.