Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

A year

A year ago today Sarah and I drove though a horrible storm to get to our holiday cottage just outside Plymouth. We had a week of wind and rain, the news was full of people trapped on cruise ships and quarantining in hotels, and little did we know that would be it for 2020.

So that means it’s a whole year since I saw my parents. Can’t quite get my head around that.

I went rummaging for some old photos and found this gem - my christening, 16th May 1965 ( my son was born on the same day 31 years later). My Auntie Sue at the back is rocking a Mary Quant look, my Nan ( who was 55 - the same age I am now) wearing white shoes with black stockings, and best of all, the cat climbing the brandy glass to catch a mouse.

I discovered during my rummaging that no photo exists of me with both my parents - that made me sad. They divorced when I was 14 and haven’t spoken to each since - I don’t think there’s much hope of me ever getting that photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.