If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Breakfast.

Sunday!   So a slow start.  I know one of my readers thinks everyday has been a Sunday since last March, but I mark Sunday by having a lie in.  When I got up Clickychick was out doing her usual Sunday morning visit.   When I drew the blinds there were this pair tucking in to breakfast.  Nothing else caught my eye during a wet day so that is blip sorted.

If you are easily bored stop reading now!  To help myself with future identifications I intend to record in this journal my thought processes on various attempted identifications.  So here goes;

At first I thought yesterday's blip was a young colony of a foliose Lichen.  Examination with a lens made me change my mind.   I have decided it is fruticose.  Both sides of the thallus are as far as I can see the same colour. The thallus seems to have a groove up the back, but doesn't resemble the only pic which my key suggests has a groove.  I wasn't able to be certain whether or not ther were soredia.  So I am left thinking it is probably a Ramalina.  Based on photo alone possibly R farinacea.  A young colony.  Either that or it isn't a common one so not on my key.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.