Trübsee

It was minus 12 deg when I left home to get the train to Engleberg at 8.30, with a clear blue sky. After much deliberation, I chose a fairly short snow shoe tour up at Trübsee, under the Titlis mountain. What surprised me was the temperature difference, about -15 deg in the valley and a balmy -1 deg up at 1800m on the mountain. There were quite a lot of people around, being a beautiful day in the middle of the ski holidays, but not many on the snow shoe trail. It was really beautiful up there, fantastic views but really hot going, I was dressed for minus 15! The Tour was about 6km, but took about 2 hours, it’s slow going with the snow shoes and the deep soft snow.
I took the gondola back down to Engelberg and had a walk around town as I had to wait about 50 mins for the next train. I got an excellent cappuccino from the highest coffee roasters in Switzerland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.