Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Princess Ludmila Meets Princess Leia

Oh, how I've come to look forward to Thursday orchestra rehearsals. This season, we've been issued fairly challenging pieces, which, for me, means more time and attention and practice if I'm to keep up with my fellow cellists, such as the lovely and very talented, Evelyn, seated beside me here. (the lovely and talented Joan, whose cello I am holding, snapped this photo, thanks Joan!)

The poem, Ruslan and Ludmila, written by Russian poet Alexander Pushkin in 1820, tells the story of Princess Ludmila's abduction by an evil wizard, and the attempt by the Knight of Ruslan to find and rescue her. The overture of the same name, by Mikhail Glinka, is a dazzling and flashy piece, opening with several lines of very, very rapid single bow notes (i.e. needs more work) for the cellos. In my mind, I can see Ruslan on horseback, chasing after the wizard, as we tear through this piece.

Now fast forward to the 1980's. Princess Leia has been captured by Darth Vader, and with this comes our introduction to Princess Leia's theme by composer John Williams. We are performing this beautiful piece as a medley together with the Star Wars theme song which is quite a showcase for our trumpets and percussion section.

I find that when I'm playing cello, I draw on my singing experience, and then when I'm singing I draw on my cello experience and the two combine in a way that is highly beneficial for me, caught in the middle, right at the vortex of these music activities! "Hear the note, sing it to yourself, and you will play it in tune.", my cello teacher Pall has advised me, time and time again.

Our spring performance is not until May 9th, giving us plenty of time to prepare, but I'm sure we'll need every minute!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.