D Day + 50 (years)

On this day - 15th February - in 1971 the UK joined the rest of the world (well most of it) and 'went decimal'.  Gone was the old £. s. d. and in came £1. p.
At the time I thought it was an opportunity to put some of the old coins on one side and wait for them to quietly increase in value ... wrong.  They have increased, but only a little..
In my Blip is a Royal Mint sealed £5 bag of uncirculated old pennies (1d) from the final minting (Sept 1969) but unfortunately it doesn't have any spectacular value (unless I can find an very keen buyer). 
And it is MEGA HEAVY. - our kitchen scales go up to 6 Kg and it is much heavier than that.
Behind the coins I have put some columns of £.s.d amounts - just try adding them up - it ain't easy (even ignoring farthings and halfpennies). 12 pence = 1 shilling and 20 shillings = £1.
Life is so much easier now :-)
Last year I Blipped my 'Commemorative Set' - but these are proper 'working coins'. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.