Camel up

This arrived in the post for us today from our friends Martin, Kate, Hannah and Alice, which was a lovely surprise and so thoughtful. (Martin used to blip but not for a while but not sure he reads this anymore, but if you are reading then thank you so much. A separate text message was sent as well!) It took us a while to get our heads around the rules but once we did we had a good game(I won)!!

First radiotherapy went ok but got to time things better as my bladder needs to be the same as when I had my CT planning scan. So there was a bit of faff and waiting about to sort that because I hadn't appreciated it needed to be exactly the same but I'll know better what to do tomorrow! Anyway it was just lying on the bed whilst the machine did it's thing. There's a big long list of possible side effects and I know the treatment is accumulative so whilst I feel ok today, I might not in a few weeks. Anyway day 1 of 28 done.

They gave me a copy of all the paperwork signing up to it all. One of the boxes ticked was reason for treatment which said 'improved survival'. I'm not really sure why but it really threw me. That this is about improving my chances of survival, which I have known all along but I suppose I've not thought I'd it in those terms. I wanted it to be more positive. To say something like 'to ensure survival'. I want guarantees that no one can give me. And it's the word 'survival' I think.

After playing our new game I took the kids down to ride. Jack was on strike and they both had to work hard to keep him trotting today. We did some steering practice round some cones then they both had a go bare back. All the jobs done then home for no meat Monday dinner. Me and Mike are having Joe Wickes cauliflower mac n cheese. Toby and Eva won't entertain that so they are having jacket spuds.

Got home to find a bunch of daffs on the doorstep. No note so it's a mystery who left them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.