TaTs - dawg & stuff

By tinksandtonks

A brief history of

Tonks.

we think she's 15/16 my friend's daughter found her abandoned and expecting in 2006.

The kittens were rehomed (except Tinks who was kept with her mum and still is).

I took over slave/worshipper duties in 2010 because Jayne was stretched with work and both of them settled in well (a charity refused to let me adopt just before this because the road at the back is too busy).

01/05/2015 during dental work they found she was hyper-thyroid and in a short period her weight dropped from 3.5 kg to less than 2.5 kg.  

For nearly 6 years she has had quarterly blood tests and varying amounts of Felimazole.  The aim is to keep her at 2.5 kg (or more) as she becomes resistant to each dose.

She has quality of life going out through the cat flap even in the snow.  I cook her chicken thighs and open tins of human grade tuna.

She rewards me by biting me and spitting out her tablets so I have to scrabble around on the floor to retrieve them.

She was however (as usual) very good for Laura the vet and I have marked the evidence of the tiny mark where they took blood.

She is unrepentant about how much I spend keeping her alive because apparently "she's worth it!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.