Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Heronry

The heronry was very busy this afternoon.
Nesting season has definitely begun.
I counted at least 50 birds either in nests at the tops of the trees or on the ground.
Frequently birds flew to the neighbouring trees, seemingly to see how their nest building compared. This caused great consternation amongst the population and their raucous calls reminded me of macaws.
They have chosen 3 trees so far and the nests are packed in quite closely together.
My image shows one small section where, if you look closely among the tangle of branches, there are 3 nests.
Once again the activity was a bit too far away but I wanted to record it as it's the first time I've seen so many herons in one location.
Imagine the noise when the youngsters are born

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.