simisue

By simisue

TRAILING ICE PLANT: LAMPRANTHUS spectabillis

This spreading succulent is a nondescript plant until it blooms & then
it is covered in these TINY, hot pink flowers.  It is just beginning to bloom here & is a very dramatic site.  It seems to grow well on slopes & in 
untended public spaces, where it grows in masses. It may have fallen out of favor because it is less common than it was years ago.

When I saw this small patch of ICE PLANT I was reminded how I get
"plant lust" every year when I see it.  The color of this South Africa native seems more suited to the Summer, but is welcome anytime of the year. 

I am home now & tired from the "wild rumpus" visit with my children & grandchildren.  It was a fun get-together & today was a beautiful day to return home. Angus is exhausted from all the attention & ball play.
We will rest, then tomorrow be back in full swing....



 


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.