The Look Out?

If you look very carefully at this photo you should be able to see a tiny tower on the far ridge surrounded by gorse. I have tried to get to it before but failed.   One of the farmer's wives told me that the old farmers would go up in the summer and play chess or bridge (or drink?) which must mean there is a path to the top. Today we braved the gorse and found the tower. As you can see it has steps to enable you to climb up onto it.  I wonder if the winner of the chess game goes up to toast his success. Anyway, I resisted the temptation. No one in the village can tell me what it is for. 

It was good to do a few more km to see if I had finally left Newcastle on my virtual walk. Thanks to 60Plus, last night I binge watched the 3 Robson Green episodes on Channel 5 when he walked the whole wall, which is adding to the atmosphere. Today I carried on along the Tyne and past the Tyne Riverside Country Park , the scenery is picking up. I think I've finally left the City but have not seen any wall yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.