SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Ullswater tree

I nipped out for milk and a quick ten minute breath of air to grab a tree to celebrate Joe Tree day in gratitude for his inspired seedling that has grown to the Blip Enchanted Tree we all now know and love.
Had to add a Mary Oliver poem that I love too.

Thank you for humouring my efforts on my ‘book’ yesterday. I’ve added an extra of two other ‘chapters’ ...
‘Bob finds himself down a very dark bottomless hole and meets Albert who spends his life pushing stones uphill’ ... and
‘Wendy takes Bob for tea with his parents, hoping narrative structure will help restore his sense of self’.
My thinking at the moment is that it might be a bit much for a two year old but then I used to send her mum letters (remember those?) when she was a little girl in Italy and I was ‘Auntie of the Mountains’. Each letter was an instalment in the life of Brenda Newbiggins (new villages round here were sometimes called Newbiggin) and her life when she moved to the nearby villages of Meaning and Hislet (Heaning and Mislet in real life) and, feeling lonely, discovered the local sheep not only spoke but introduced her to various philosophical concepts every time she walked by their field.

I really should get out more ...

Thanks About Angels And About Trees - Mary Oliver

Where do angels
fly in the firmament,
and how many can dance
on the head of a pin?

Well, I don’t care
about that pin dance,
what I know is that
they rest, sometimes,
in the tops of the trees

and you can see them,
or almost see them,
or, anyway, think: what a
wonderful idea.

I have lost as you and
others have possibly lost a
beloved one,
and wonder, where are they now?

The trees, anyway, are
miraculous, full of
angels (ideas); even
empty they are a
good place to look, to put
the heart at rest—all those
leaves breathing the air, so

peaceful and diligent, and certainly
ready to be
the resting place of
strange, winged creatures
that we, in this world, have loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.