Joe Tree Day

I'm a relative newcomer to the Blip Community . I started in July 2019 and I'm hooked.
Its not just that its somewhere to post and look at photos , its  the friendly interaction from fellow Blippers that makes it special. 

Todays walk was nowhere near trees.. We went to the north end of Channel side which goes up and over the old slag bank. A remnant of the iron works. When the metal was melted from the rock what was left was put in a pile which grew into  a mile long and a few hundred feet high.  
About 40 years ago when the iron works ( and steel works) were closed some of the slag was removed and used for hardcore when building roads but most of it remained as quite a long large eye sore. Then 25 years ago , it was grassed over  and paths were laid. Small  shrubs and gorse were planted and now it's a pleasant place to walk.

Today  it wasnt windy but it was  misty and you couldnt see the Lakes District hills . Plenty of dog walkers but we kept our distance. 

So  for Joe Tree Day , my holly tree.. I love the variegated leaves. It was planted right next to the path which really is in the wrong place  and catches out unsuspecting visitors with its prickles ( when we had visitors)  but I like it especially in winter. 

Stay safe everyone.  As always ,Thank you for your stars and comments.  I do appreciate them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.