A Memory of Mum

My Mum died unexpectedly 40 years ago today, 3 days before her 58th birthday. I can't believe it's been so many years since that day. I'll never forget getting out of my car to go to play basketball right after coaching a high school team. I saw G and Renata walking towards me and thought, "They've come to watch me play!" Then I could tell by the way they were walking that something was wrong. My dad had called to give us the very sad news. 
Mum had rheumatic fever as a child. As a result of the damage to her heart, she had two open heart surgeries and had a pig valve inserted. She was a tough woman, endured a lot but very rarely complained. I don't have very many things that belonged to her, and this simple little vase that hangs on my wall is one of them. I have no idea where my mum got this but I'm sure there was a story behind it. I added the squiggly twigs years ago and like them. A bit of playing around with textures and this is the final result - a background a little more interesting than that plain wall. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.