Whilst in Devon..

By TonyL

Totally not interested in aeroplanes.

I was enjoying a lovely but very energetic walk up to the Bearded Lake, nearly an hour away from the cottage. Weather was all over the place. Blue sky one minute, then ominous and very wet looking cloud the next. (See extra blip). Gorgeous views all around.(I'm in West Wales by the way).
You need to know that I don't use a camera. Just my Huawei phone. If I have the light behind me it is extremely difficult sometimes to see anything on the screen at all let alone what you're aiming at. My glasses get in the way as well.
So, out of the blue this horrendously noisy fighter jet appears from over the hills on one side and zooms over to the other. But high up and very small.
15 seconds later another flies over.
15 seconds later I hear yet another on it's way. So for no reason I raise my phone, point it roughly in its direction and despite it moving very fast take a couple of shots.
Looking at the images I'd just taken all I could see was what looked like a very small bird.
Back home I zoomed in and amazingly could make out its features.
I imagine a lot of phones have this feature but if you hold two fingertips onto the screen then depending on what the image is you get a whole raft of suggestions about similar items, where to see them, buy them etc etc.
So I do this and apart from lots of ideas about small metal brackets and such like it comes up with a picture of a jigsaw puzzle of a McDonnel Douglas F-15 Eagle fighter aircraft. So a little bit of searching and I find a picture at roughly same angle to make a comparison.
These planes are flown by the USAF flying out from somewhere like RAF Lakenheath or RAF Mildenhall.
So now you know, and I shall go back to being totally disinterested in any kind of aircraft.
What to do now with all my lovely shots of hills and lakes and rocks and heather, and, and...


It's no good I shall have to add an extra...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.