Seas at Quarff

Another windy day, and showers until the afternoon.  A windy, but dry night.

I've been working in the museum again today, and had two otter visitors in the dock.  One was a cub, we have a family next door to the museum.  Some walkies with Sammy, before I headed out for my shift in the shop.  More walkies, before I get my feet up.

Sadly we were reminded how unforgiving the seas around Shetland can be, as a man drowned off a local fishing boat, in the early hours today.  Many sad stories over the years, of many men lost to sea, including my great granddad Johnie, and thankfully when my granddad Mitchell went overboard, he was rescued.  Even with modern technology, accidents still happen.  The fishermen do work hard, and at such a high risk at times.  My thoughts are with his family, and crew.  I do love to watch rough seas, but glad to be on solid ground, here at Easter Quarff.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.