Julie

The Fruit and Veg Seller

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #26

I decided to take a break from the bike commuting this morning, after three successive days. I started to ring my usual changes yesterday, taking a different way in via Otley and then returning via the Tramway and Eldwick. When I've been struggling I've tried to remind myself that I'm riding the rusty winter bike and I've not done any proper miles in months.

On school days my train commute is enlivened by the kids going from Ilkley to Bradford Grammar. It would be easy to be annoyed by the noise, especially the shrill shrieks of the girls, but it can very entertaining if you go along with it. It's a glimpse into a whole other arcane world! The conversation carries from the aisle of seats either behind me or in front of me and it can sometimes prove irresistibly difficult not to tune your ear in. This morning was one such example. The most vocal young girl of the group hidden behind the seats in front of me was on the phone, presumably to either her Mum or her Dad. Probably her Dad I imagine! "Can you bring my ergs? My errgs. My errrgs. Huh. Can you bring my urrgs? Urgs. Urgs. Huh. My shoes. My boots. Can you bring me my Uggs?" I certainly had no idea what she was asking for until her final acquiescence to a bit of elocution.

I get the impression that the girls have a lot more fun than the boys. They are all so animated and excited every morning. The boys are quite morose by comparison. That got to remind me about something that I've not thought about much in many, many years. When I was a kid I used to read girl's comics. I simply found the stories far more interesting and realistic than those in the boy's comics. I don't ever remember being embarrassed by this. And I think I was way too innocent to be able to claim that I was trying to gain some insight into that arcane world which will forever remain a mystery to us boys. I'm talking about the 60s here so the stories were never going to be very revealing! It was just that boy comics were boring and the girl ones a lot more fun. Any other guys want to admit to the same? Confession time!

So ... this is my first proper street portrait. I didn't get a chance to wander around town until the middle of the afternoon and I couldn't really find any little visual stories. It was time to pluck up courage to ask if I could take this picture. It's a whole new skill and I have a lot to learn, but I took this very quickly and I think I have caught the lovely Julie as I see her on the fruit and veg stall every week. When she told me her name it felt absolutely right. I reckon I could have guessed she was a Julie. The name fits her personality quite perfectly. I think she felt a little honoured to be asked and I hope I've honoured her well here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.