Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Goodbye Facebook

I don't care much for bullies and I don't care much for greedy companies. We have a strange view in Australia that the work of journalists should be paid for by those who make profits out of it. In fact, we feel quite strongly about it and have pressured our government to pass laws that make global entities, like Facebook, pay for the journalists' work they use as bait to get people to subscribe to Facebook. Facebook doesn't want this to happen because it might set a precedent for the rest of the world. So, what have they done? Yesterday they placed a block on all Australian users from viewing and sharing local and international news. 

As well as conventional news outlets, they stupidly also initially blocked government pages – including on health (in the middle of a pandemic!!), bushfires, mental health, emergency services and even meteorology as well as community, women’s health and domestic violence support pages. Facebook has said it will reverse these blocks. So good of them.

I have some belief in the power of one so I decided that I will delete my Facebook page in protest. My photo today is my final post alerting my Facebook 'friends' about my decision. I have read that many others have reached the same conclusion to delete their account. So, hoo roo Mr Zuckerberg. Good riddance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.