Disappointed

What a cacophony - hungry sheep running towards me hoping I'm the shepherd. They are very short sighted, he has a beard. Luckily they were thwarted by the wall or else I'd have been run over in the rush.

A real walk today to add a few more km to my virtual Hadrian's Wall Walk. Yesterday I "swam" 671m along the route because Strava automatically loads my distance from my watch.  Having reached Heddon on the Wall I was getting excited about finally seeing some wall. It's a good job I'm paying attention because its behind a hedge and I would have missed it but using Google Street view I've now spotted the gate so I'll remember this when I come to do the walk for real.   (see here for pictures) 
General Wade used a lot of the wall to build his military road from Newcastle to Carlisle and its also pretty obvious, from Google Street view, that the locals in Heddon on the Wall have built their houses out of wall, in fact, we are lucky any of the wall survives here at all.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.